Skip to content

To report a serious incident to DEM, as required by Section 85(2) of the Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Act 2000, licensees should contact the serious incident reporting hotline on: (08) 8463 6666. For more information please visit the Compliance and Monitoring webpage |          The Department for Energy and Mining (DEM) transitioned its systems from GDA94 to GDA2020 and its associated Map Grid (MGA2020) over the weekend of 10th and 11th August 2019. For more information please visit the DEM Transition to GDA2020 webpage.

Extensive mapping was undertaken between 1992 and 1994 to provide explorers with a comprehensive view of the structure of the Otway Basin. Four key seismic horizons have been mapped using existing open file seismic sections and industry interpretations, and tied to the network of 50 wells in the basin.

These horizons – Top Sherbrook Group (late Cretaceous), Top Eumeralla Formation (early Cretaceous), Top Crayfish Group (early Cretaceous) and Top Basement (early Palaeozoic) generally divide the basin into megasequence units. Horizon maps have been converted to depth and a range of isopach maps have been prepared.

Many of the maps from this mapping are included in the publication Petroleum Geology of South Australia - Volume 1 - the Otway Basin (PDF 25MB)

An example of what is available:

Top Eumeralla Formation Depth Map


Purchase Information

A comprehensive list of the mapped horizons and thickness maps is contained in the Otway Seismic Mapping. A packaged data set is also available at discounted rates as indicated in the available products and price listing:

To order a copy of these data email

For more information, contact:

Iain Campbell
Chief Geophysicist

Phone: + 61 8 8429 2465