Skip to content

From Monday 13 August Energy Resources Division will relocate to level 4, 11 Waymouth Street, Adelaide 5000.  Don't forget to update your links and bookmarks to

Excellence in energy and mining

2018 Premier’s Awards.

South Australia’s energy, resources and supply chain companies were praised for excellence in diversity, innovation and working with communities at the Premier’s Awards in Energy and Mining gala dinner celebration on 30 November 2018.

The awards recognise companies which demonstrate leadership and leading practice approaches to improve the economic and social wellbeing of communities in South Australia.

Nineteen award winners and commendation recipients were celebrated for their strong focus on innovation, community and performance.

Premier Steven Marshall said, ‘Mining and energy companies play a significant role in the community through local partnerships, supply chain investment, employment, training, social inclusion initiatives and continuous improvement of environmental sustainability.

‘The Marshall Liberal Government is committed to ensuring the benefits of mining are realised for all South Australians, so that current and future generations will share in the economic and social opportunities generated by these industries.

‘The energy and resources sectors have a long-standing connection to our state’s prosperity. These sectors will continue to be key drivers of economic growth and social development to the benefit of all South Australians.’

2018 Premier’s Awards winners and commendation recipients

Energy sector awards

Excellence in Working with Communities: Delivering Customer Value
  • Winner: SIMEC ZEN Energy for ‘Reducing the cost of energy for the disadvantaged through renewable energy’
Excellence in Innovation: Productivity Improvement
  • Winner: Energy Developments Pty Ltd for ‘Coober Pedy Renewable Hybrid’
Excellence in Innovation: Transformational Innovation
  • Commendation: 1414 Degrees for the ‘SA Water GAS-TESS’ project
  • Commendation: SIMEC ZEN Energy for ‘Transforming the Australian energy sector to bring prices down and realise South Australia’s new energy advantage’

Mining equipment, technology and services (METS) sector awards

Excellence in Working with Communities
  • Winner: BHP Olympic Dam and C-Res for ‘Local Buying Program’
Excellence in Innovation: Productivity Improvement
  • Winner: Boart Longyear for ‘TruScan Innovative onsite core scanning technology’
  • Commendation: Minalyze for ‘Minalyzer core scanner and Minalogger data visualization software’
Excellence in Innovation: Commercialisation of Research
  • Winner: Maptek Pty Ltd for ‘Maptek Sentry’

Resources sector awards

Excellence in Diversity
  • Winner: Iluka Resources and the Far West Coast Aboriginal Corporation for ‘Jacinth-Ambrosia - Diversity in Action - Partnerships with Far West Coast and Iluka Resources’
  • Commendation: BHP Olympic Dam for ‘Championing change at Olympic Dam’
Excellence in Working with Communities
  • Winner: OZ Minerals and Global Maintenance Upper Spencer Gulf for ‘Carrapateena Project’
  • Winner: Heathgate Resources for ‘Aboriginal Engagement Program’
  • Commendation: Hillgrove Resources Limited and the Kanmantoo Callington Community Consultative Committee for ‘Kanmantoo Callington Regional Master Plan’
  • Commendation: Beach Energy for ‘Otway Basin (SA) Project’
Excellence in Innovation: Environmental Management
  • Winner: Iluka Resources for ‘Jacinth-Ambrosia Mine rehabilitation research programs to achieve restoration success’
  • Winner: Hanson for ‘Rowland Flat Sand Quarry Progressive Rehabilitation’
  • Commendation: BHP Olympic Dam for ‘Diesel particulate matter reduction project’
Excellence in Innovation: Production Solution
  • Winner: Santos for ‘Wireless to the Wellhead’
  • Commendation: Santos for ‘Moomba Integrated Risk Register’

– December 2018

Back to news articles